For all my Musician Friends, Sir Paul McCartney

Sir Paul

On June 13th, Sir Paul McCartney played at Chelsea’s new Highline Ballroom to a cozy crowd of only 700.  This semi-secret Manhattan club show was to introduce his new album called, “Memory Almost Full”.  Read what Rolling Stone Mag had to say about this night here.

Our famous DJ cousin, Helen Leight, out of Philly (WXPN) has been a Beatles lover since the beginning. And of course she was one of the chosen few invited to this New York show. Said the show was amazing and that she cried. I probably would have too.

Setlist:

“Drive My Car”
“Only Mama Knows”
“Dance Tonight”
“C Moon”
“The Long and Winding Road”
“I’ll Follow the Sun”
“Calico Skies”
“That Was Me”
“Blackbird”
“Here Today”
“Back in the U.S.S.R.”
“Nod Your Head”
“House of Wax”
“I’ve Got a Feeling”
“Matchbox”
“Get Back”
“Baby Face” (snippet)
“Hey Jude”
“Let It Be”
“Lady Madonna”
“I Saw Her Standing There”

Helen celebrated the anniversary of Sgt. Peppers at xpn with a special Philly concert

I guess as long as we live, Bealtles lovers will always know the impact this music has had on a generation of young people.  Now as we age, we know the value of the work is that it is timeless and classic and that we will carry it with us in our hearts forever.  In fact, it has helped shape us into who we are now… mature Beatle lovers!

4 Responses to For all my Musician Friends, Sir Paul McCartney

  1. […] post by anitamorrell Share and Enjoy: These icons link to social bookmarking sites where readers can share and […]

  2. ig says:

    I can’t believe your cousin went to that show!!! That’s awesome. I love McCartney, even though I am young enough not to have been around for the Beatles and his earlier solo stuff. (I’m 32!). BUT, my mom used to play her Wings records (“Band on the Run”) when I was little, and I remember grabbing this really large wooden spoon she had for a kitchen decoration hanging on the wall, and I used to “play” guitar with the spoon along to “Band on the Run.” So, that was my intro to McCartney, and then learned about the famous Beatles later on. Thanks for sharing!

    IG

  3. QuoinMonkey says:

    Killer set list. I loved the Beatles growing up. I think I still have a few original 45’s of theirs. But they are pretty scratched from playing them on an old green RCA that I got one Christmas in the mid-sixties. You are so lucky to have such a cool cousin. What a great creative outlet to have music be your life.

  4. QuoinMonkey says:

    BTW, Paul was always my favorite. 8)

Leave a Reply

