Rebel Barn, Pride or Hate?


My Liza came home with this disturbing photo today.  What is this rebel flag suppose to be saying to us?  Is it “southern pride” or is it “state’s rights” or is it some kind of backward racial comment made by someone clearly still residing in another time?

As a white female boomer born in the south, I am very proud of most things southern. Love my Mama and my family and my southern musical heritage. Love Tennessee Pride sausage gravy and homemade biscuits almost as much as a nice thick authentic southern accent. I call everyone “Y’all”. I love the climate: the four seasons of the Applalachian mountains, the tropical flavor of South Florida, the historical architecture of Savannah and the diversity of New Orleans and Atlanta. And I like the weather too.

I decided a long time ago that I would travel everywhere, but would not reside west of the Mississippi River nor north of Virginia. I am a southern girl. This doesn’t mean I am proud of every page of my southern history book.

Having said that, I am also a product of the sixties. I beleived Mr. King. Racial bigotry is the same to me as any other hate based thinking involving discrimination. Whether against women, gays, minority races, or religious/secular groups, it is all the same. I have always beleived that a lack of mutal respect for other humans and/or a lack of education must be behind this kind of narrow (if you are not like me then you must be wrong) thinking.

I am a product of Key West’s ONE HUMAN FAMILY philosophy.

So what does this rebel flag emblem suppose to mean to me? Or should it exist at all?

5 Responses to Rebel Barn, Pride or Hate?

  1. Razzbuffnik says:

    I’ve come to the conclusion that people who wrap themselves up in flags are trying to appropriate what ever the flag represents. In the case of the rebel flag, I’d say it’s a case of white trash trying to elevate their status from low life nonentity to a force to be reckoned with.

    In other words it’s a way for passers by, to know where a loser lives.

  2. ybonesy says:

    Would be a beautiful barn without it.

  3. Karrie says:

    I lived in the South (Richmond VA, then Birmingham Alabama) for a few years when I was growing up and compared to all the places I’ve lived since (5 different States in the Midwest and Southwest), I felt like Southerners had a greater sense of regional pride. I tend to assume that a person that displays a confederate flag is a bigot. However, sometimes I wonder if they’re not bigots at all, just proud to be Southerners. I’ve always wondered if some of these folks aren’t just so naïve that they don’t realize that this flag can never be separated from its residual negative connotations. It is sad that there isn’t a more appropriate symbol for Southern pride. I think it’s kind of cool how Southerners are proud of their accents, music, food, architecture, diversity etc.

  4. QuoinMonkey says:

    Karrie: you bring up some good points. Some of the things I was thinking about, too. I grew up in the South and will be heading down there in a few weeks to do some research on my book. There are so many conflicting feelings there. I’ve lived now in the Midwest, Northeast, and Northwest and one thing I know – no place is immune to bigotry. My Southern relatives have a great deal of pride in their heritage. And I agree, I wish there was a better symbol for Southern pride. It’s hard to reconcile our Southern roots with everything that is connected to it. Good post, Anita. I’ll check in from Georgia in a few weeks.

  5. anitamorrell says:

    Thanks to all for your comments. Nice to have readers able to understand our conflict on this one. Have a good trip QM. Anita

Leave a Reply

