Love Food

EC’s stroke has been confirmed as “not as bad as it could have been” but she has weeks of rehab ahead for sure. And more invasive tests tomorrow.

She has constant advocacy by family at her side. First son (Liza’s brother) arrived yesterday. Liza slept through the afternoon then went back to the hospital in the evening.

I did what every good southern woman does. Went on a up-and-down-every-isle grocery shopping trip and have been cooking since. Last night, banana bread with nuts and love.  Often made by EC usually with one ingredient missing. Often made by my own mother, EM, in little tin cradled loaves.

I have whipped up my best homemade chicken soup (young carrots, celery with leaves, lots of garlic). Boneless pork chops that marinated all night in Cuban mojo….  yum…  and a new green bean/artichoke casserole that I tried out on Liza after she returned from the hospital late last night.

Liza will deliver the chicken soup and banana bread to EC to be approved by Kelly, the sweet, young-enough-to-still-care nurse.

Since she has not been feeling well either, portions of the same I will take to EM along with the pork and casserole for her supper.

There is something in my wiring that says love food can fix anything.   A.D.D. (about me) I know this is not true. It is just all I know to do.

Warm wishes. 

One Response to Love Food

  1. foxhollowjewelry says:

    I believe it the love you put in as the main ingredient that makes people feel better.

Leave a Reply

