Changing Gears

Sunday was breakfast at Mom’s which is an event one does not want to miss.  This quintessential country breakfast includes huge hot flaky biscuits, Tennessee Pride mild country sausage gravy, bacon, ham, fried eggs and sliced garden red tomatos.

My mother is such a wise and talented woman.  She understands that this loved filled breakfast banquet is not just a tradition about once a month, but is one of the most cherished and grounding ceremonies of her family’s lives.  She knows that breakfast at “meema’s ” will represent a happy childhood memory for the grandchildren and an oasis of restful comfort for the busy adults.  An effort for her at 70, but one would never know it as the meal is presented with confidence and selfless love to her adoring, grateful and always hungry family.  Very high on the love per calorie scale.

Yesterday, Mom and I drove to a little town just north of Bristol called Abingdon.  She needed quilting supplies from Jeanie’s Fabric and I needed to hook up with some kind of art community.  In Abingdon, they have King Arts Center where, I have heard, one could get classes in painting and other fine arts endeavors.

Big sigh.  The arts center was closed.  I really wanted to see the twig furniture exhibit. [I just re-read this last sentence and think… I have given up my professional business life for twig furniture!  I willingly gave up hot careers that were lucrative and challenging. bummer.]

But before I could make it back to the car I was thinking… traded stressful long hours, right brain activities for a quiet day with my mom and the graceful curves of hand hewn wood lovingly constructed by historic craftsmen. Hmmm, happy again.  I’m just having a hard time changing gears.  

Warm wishes for all until next time.

4 Responses to Changing Gears

  1. bookbabie says:

    Welcome to the blogging world Anita, have fun with it!

  2. gardengirl says:

    Why is it we long for yesterday’s relationships, apatments, bosses, jobs, friends as though it was somehow “perfect?” Show me a time in your(anyone’s) life that you didn’t complain and I will show you true happiness. It is not the situation that is good or bad, only your perception and attitude. You (Anita) found true happiness in your mother’s breakfast.
    So…when “starting over” select a path that you can see yourself not complaining about and then commit to it. Let’s all take today and not complain about anything! Then we’ll do it again tomorrow and then the next until it becomes a habit. That sound too easy?

  3. anitamorrell says:

    garden girl, you are so wise.

  4. Lori Leigh says:

    Bravo Anita!! I, like you, lost someone very special to me, my grandfather. He was my everything and I didn’t know how I could go on without him. After a few months, I realized that I should be celebrating the special times we had together instead of mourning his death. He always told me, “Lori Leigh, if you just go inch by inch you won’t go wrong.” He taught me so many things and I had so many good years with him and I know that he would be REALLY p***ed at seeing me down in the dumps, especially because of him! So, I decided to follow another of his sayings. I picked myself up, dusted myself off and got on with life…like I knew he’d want me to do. I started a new job and met a wonderful, wise woman who was a fantastic cook and was such a great, caring person and we became friends which helped me alot. She is always there when I need someone to talk to about anything and everything and I always enjoy hearing her stories about her children and grandchildren and how she loves to cook for them. You see, I know how important those breakfast times are for you…. and her. How? Because my FRIEND is your MOTHER!! How lucky you are. Rejoice that you have such a special mother and enjoy the times you have to the fullest. Also, please know that your dad is ALWAYS with you, just like my grandfather is with me. When you can understand that…you can both rest. It was great getting to meet you finally and I love your blog! You go girl!!!

Leave a Reply

